Apr 29 2013

2013 Communication Awards Reception

April 29, 2013

The Communication ComEd Scholarship 

The ComEd Scholarship provides excellent support and recognition for deserving Latino students. Full time majors in Communications, with sophomore or junior status, Illinois residency, a minimum GPA of 3.0, may apply – a personal statement describing your background and how the scholarship will contribute to your career and education goals is also required. The awardee writes a thank you letter to ComEd, is recognized as a ComEd Scholar, and is available to meet with ComEd representatives and other ComEd scholars on the UIC campus.

2013 Recipients: Gio Hernandez and Isabel Montoya

The Outstanding Communication Major Award 

The recipient is chosen by the Head of the Department from undergraduate candidates who have been recommended by the members of the Awards Committee. Nominations are made by full-time faculty members who have had the student in class. Students may ask a professor they have had for a class to nominate them for the award.

2013 Recipient: Meredith Maresh

Communication Department Award of Distinction 

This award recognizes the honors students in the major who have achieved academic distinction. It is frequently awarded to students who are members of the Honors College and recognizes the accomplishments of students attaining the highest GPAs in the Department of Communication.

2013 Recipient: Leila Arab

The International Communication Association Student Award honors the accomplishments of graduate student instructors. Graduate student recipients are recognized at the Instructional/ Developmental Division business meeting at the annual convention in May or June, depending on the year. ICA also provides this individual with an award certificate, and places his or her name on our permanent list of outstanding graduate student teachers. The Department provides the selected student with a one-year membership in ICA and in the Instructional and Developmental Division as its contribution to the award.

2013 Recipient: Indira Neill

National Communication Association Award - Membership (Graduate Students)

The NCA Award recognizes an outstanding second year graduate student. The recipient receives a one-year membership to NCA, plus a one-year subscription to an NCA journal.

2013 Recipient: Jason Archer

MA recipient: Bailey Kelley

The UIC Chapter of Lambda Pi Eta -
Upsilon Omicron

  • Krista Coulter
  • Vivian Delgadillo
  • Matthew Fricks
  • Michele Furtek
  • Allyson Landry
  • Laura Onofrei
  • Shayne Pekoz
  • Brandon Potter
  • Ashley Prete
  • Michael Queroz
  • Melissa Skonieczny



Date posted

Jul 30, 2018

Date updated

Aug 1, 2018